Tom Campbell’s Big T.O.E.

mbt-blog-article-header

I have went through many phases in my life asking the burning questions about the nature of reality. I have always been asking myself “why are we here,” “what is our purpose”, “what happens after we die”, etc. To me it seems perfectly normal to ask these important questions, yet for the most part people have been programmed to avoid the big questions, or somehow bury or block it out of their minds. It’s considered boring to the masses (sometimes the M is silent in the word masses, so be careful – lol). I suppose this is quite unfortunate for mankind’s sake. Really, isn’t it the most important thing to be thinking about as we stand in awe and wonder what it’s all about? Having began my journey by studying Transcendental Meditation and Hinduism (thanks to my hero George Harrison), experimenting with LSD (thanks to my heroes The Beatles), and winding up with dipping my toe in Christianity, Gnosticism, Comparative Religion, Mythology, Buddhism, Astrotheology, Physics, Science, and a host of other teachings, I’ve concluded that when the Church forced Science to split off into it’s own branch because of persecution – that Science has since left out of it’s studies anything to do with the invisible. (The truth is that the existence of matter has yet to be proven, so the invisible is fundamental to understanding reality). Until the two branches can blend we will never understand the nature of reality. I think Tom Campbell has done this. I have also learned of many other “mainstream” scientists speaking out about Consciousness being the absolute center of our existence. It’s being accepted behind closed doors that “matter” is a product of Consciousness, but science as it is now is a religion with it’s own set of dogmas, and I really think ANY ‘belief system’ closes the mind to our ability to understand, learn and know the Truth. We are now in the Newtonian (Materialism), Reductionist, and Darwinian phase in our collective evolution. We have locked ourselves in a box of wrong information while we hold the very key to getting out, yet we refuse to use it. We have become comfortable in our box of misunderstanding, which obviously stops our growth process and limits our ability to learn.

When Tom Campbell used the analogy of a video game to describe our reality everything became a little clearer to me. This reality is a virtual one, our ‘bodies’ are our avatars, but we are not our bodies, we are Consciousness and consciousness is digital information that is trying to evolve through us. This Consciousness is the only thing that exists and the rest can be called an illusion, as the Buddha said 5,000 years ago. Or  a virtual reality in modern speak. I think ancient manuscripts (religion) are trying to say the same thing but it was meant for an audience of a different time. I prefer modern English and modern analogies now, a kind of scientific mysticism. Nothing is more ignorant than mistaking religious writings as history, it was merely early quantum physics language. Nothing to kill each other over, just different ways to say the same thing.

To describe Tom’s Big TOE (theory of everything) would only do him and his own description an injustice. He has hundreds of hours of youtube videos and a book called My Big TOE (which you can read for free on Google Books) and he himself explains his concepts quite well. I found him by accident a couple years ago and listen to him pretty much every night. The thing is though, if you start with a video where he assumes you are familiar with his work, you will probably stop listening and forget about him. I think I began listening to him with his Faith, Religion, and God in the Big Picture interview at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_bDgox6iqM and loved the Tom Campbell and Bruce Lipton: Two Scientists “See the Same World” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjDQzCq6FdM (I’m a big fan of Bruce Lipton as well). But I recommend Tom’s Calgary videos for beginners, and perhaps The Edge Brothers interviews, especially for the younger or computer literate crowd. His Munroe Institute speech is excellent, but the number of free youtube videos is staggering. He freely admits his TOE is incomplete and invites others to add to it. He asks that we remain open minded and skeptical while admitting there are certain things we just can’t know. I’m cool with not knowing everything. He asks that no one “believe” him and that we understand that words are symbolic and metaphoric and that we derive our own intuitive Big TOE. I really hope by presenting him to you it will enrich your life as much as it has mine.

The following is “about the author” taken from his website http://www.my-big-toe.com:

Tom Campbell began researching altered states of consciousness with Bob Monroe (Journeys Out Of The Body, Far Journeys, and The Ultimate Journey) at Monroe Laboratories in the early 1970s where he and a few others were instrumental in getting Monroe’s laboratory for the study of consciousness up and running. These early drug-free consciousness pioneers helped design experiments, developed the technology for creating specific altered states, and were the main subjects of study (guinea pigs) all at the same time. Campbell has been experimenting with, and exploring the subjective and objective mind ever since. For the past thirty years, Campbell has been focused on scientifically exploring the properties, boundaries, and abilities of consciousness.

        During that same time period, he has excelled as a working scientist, a professional physicist dedicated to pushing back the frontiers of cutting edge technology, large-system simulation, technology development and integration, and complex system vulnerability and risk analysis. Presently, and for the past 20 years, he has been at the heart of developing US missile defense systems.
        Tom is the “TC (physicist)” described in Bob Monroe’s second book Far Journeys and has been a serious explorer of the frontiers of reality, mind, consciousness, and psychic phenomena since the early 1970s. My Big TOE is a model of existence and reality that is based directly on Campbell’s scientific research and first hand experience. It represents the results and conclusions of thirty years of careful scientific exploration of the boundaries and contents of reality from both the physical and metaphysical viewpoints. The author has made every effort to approach his explorations without bias or preconceived notions. There is no belief system, dogma, creed, or unusual assumptions at the root of My Big TOE.
        By demanding high quality repeatable, empirical, evidential data to separate what’s real (exists independently and externally) from what’s imaginary or illusory; Campbell has scientifically derived this general model of reality
2 thoughts on “Tom Campbell’s Big T.O.E.

  1. Hi Hipmonkey :) Came here from your ‘likes’ on my blog (thank you, btw) to see what you’ve been up to since I was here last. You’ve been busy! This is a good post – but I wanted to caution _you_ personally, with regards to swallowing Tom Campbell’s ideas wholemeal… be careful. I too was seduced at first, but the instant I came across a (and I paraphrase liberally) “Buy my book and you too will learn how to will yourself to fly!” snake-oil-salesman kind of incitement to give him money, I thought “whoa there… this is nuts”. And if you take a step back, a lot of his ideas are ‘nutty’ and overly-complex ‘answers’ to things. All I can say is be very careful and draw your own conclusions.
    That being said, I really liked your part about how (ancient) religious texts were just ‘quantum mechanics’ in their own language – yes, I agree that ancient texts are exactly what science is today – they’re attempts at a metaphysical explanation of reality, using the words and concepts of their time. So your ‘modern scientific mysticism’ is great – I too have developed a sense that ‘all of this is like a video game’, in its own particular way – but the analogy is contemporaneous. Funny though, the words ‘scientific mystic’ make me think of Sadhguru – you should definitely check him out! One of the few ‘awake’ mystics I’ve seen (compare him to the burnt-out, drug addled Osho for a taste of what I mean) who is really _human_ and great (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXAPiksRS_M for his TED talk).
    Anyway, keep searching and keep doubting – nit-pick your own theory from the carcasses of others (Tom Campbell’s should be taken from too – just now wholly).
    All the best,
    taomath

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment, I really love your blog. I NEVER swallow everything anybody says. Tom himself says he called his book MY big TOE because it’s his TOE and that we should each develop our own TOE. For example I don’t like his anti-psychedelics stance and dismissed that part instantly. I think those plants definitely are useful and should be studied in depth. (Personally though, I’ve never heard him push his book. He always says it’s on google books for free. I think he’s pretty well off in his retirement because of his occupation as a physicist and doesn’t make much money from his self published book). But I hear what you’re saying. I didn’t mean to come across as putting him on a pedestal. He’s one of many I have found useful in understanding our existence. I honestly can’t see an ulterior motive in his work. However his use of language and metaphors are not for everyone. Bruce Lipton seems to limit his free videos and push his book, as well as Pysch-K, but I still like his words. Words are very symbolic and we each get something different from different people. We should take what we can from many and put it together in a way that makes intuitive truthful sense to us in a positive way. Open minded skepticism is the only way to fly!!! (Alan Watts is amazing to me, especially on Buddhism), but a little modern scientific terminology is nice to hear sometimes. Thanks again and PEACE always. I will check out your link and thank you for that in advance, .I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

